Urology Residency



Chair:  Amar Singh, MD

Residency Program Director:  Anand Shridharani, MD


Residency Coordinator:  Stacey Blanks, CAP

Phone:  (423) 778-4691

Fax: (423) 778-3375

E-mail: stacey.blanks@erlanger.org


Residency Home Page:  www.comchattanooga.uthsc.edu/urology

UT Erlanger Urology Home Page: www.uturology.com/

Dr. Shridharani's Web Page: www.drshrid.com

FaceBook LogoPractice Facebook Page: UT Erlanger Urology


Facebook LogoResidency Facebook Page: Department of Urology - UT College of Medicine Chattanooga




The Department of Urology at UT College of Medicine Chattanooga began in 2015 and has been awarded Full and Continued Accreditation by the ACGME. 

Due to changes in the ACGME urology program requirements, our program was approved as a five-year residency effective July 1, 2019. Incoming Urology Residents now begin in the program at the PGY-1 level. During the PGY-1 year residents spend an six months rotating through the Department of General Surgery in order to gain medical knowledge and surgical skills necessary for advanced urologic training throughout the residency.  

We are extremely proud to announce that our first Urology graduate, Nathan Jung, MD,  completed our program as an outstanding chief resident (June 30, 2019) and has passed the written boards for urology.The faculty and staff are proud of this milestone and achievement. We look forward to training and graduating many more excellent physicians from our department. 

Our program is at full complement with five residents (one at each level).  Our current Chief Resident (PGY-5 level) is Hugh Smith, MD, who entered our program at the PGY-2 level in July 2016. Dr. Smith is a graduate of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, Class of 2015.  Our PGY-4 level resident is Amanda Carter, MD, and entered our program at the PGY-2 level in July 2017.  She is also a graduate of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, Class of 2016. Our PGY-3 level resident, Matthew Watson, DO, entered our program at the PGY-2 level in July 2018.  Dr. Watson is a graduate of Michigan Statement University College of Osteopatic Medicine, Class of 2016.   Our PGY-2 level resident, Michael Tonzi, MD, entered our program this year (July 2019) and is a graduate of the SUNY) Upstate Medical University, Class of 2018 .  Our PGY-1 level resident, David Thompson, MD, joined our program in July 2019 and is a graduate of Louisiana State University, Class of 2019. 


Our department is excited to see our program grow. Our Urology faculty are comprised of eight full-time urologists who have completed fellowship training covering all subspecialties of urological education. They are a diverse group with experience in robotic, minimally invasive and laparoscopic procedures, urologic oncology, female urologic conditions, urologic reconstruction, male infertility, vasectomy reversal, erectile dysfunction, endourology, pelvic floor conditions, incontinence, stone diseases and pediatric urology including treatment of congenital and acquired urological conditions and diseases in children.


Our GME Programs are based at the only academic medical center and major teaching hospital within a 70+ mile region -- Erlanger Health System. Our patient population is robust with regard to the full spectrum of urologic disease. This includes an underserved poor population that may often present with advanced untreated urologic disease not often seen in low-to-moderate volume centers. The experience gained by providing care for these patients further enhances resident education.


Overall Educational Goals and Objectives

  • To foster development in each trainee of positive humanistic and professional attitudes as essential ingredients of excellence in patient care.
  • To assure acquisition by each trainee of appropriate technical skills and an appreciation of surgical anatomy and physiology.

Updated 10/31/2019

UT College of Medicine Chattanooga     960 East Third Street, Suite 100     Chattanooga, TN 37403     (800)947-7823, ext 6956     info@utcomchatt.org

Custom CMS and Web Design by Papercut Interactive